Jake Wiken (NW Ohio)

Post your introduction and "get to know me" information in this forum.
10+ Years
10+ Years
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 5:24 pm
Zip Code: 44847
Location: sandusky, Oh on lake erie

Jake Wiken (NW Ohio)

Postby jakeesspoo » Tue Jun 27, 2006 10:03 pm

Hello, a little about me. Im 27 now and have been married for a year. My family owns a sheet metal shop (Im the 5th generation) and we do heating and air. This is what I went to school for and got my degree in and my refrigeration licenses,welding certificates etc. And somehow I ended up at Delphi Automotive, a branch of GM thats now bankrupt. Anyways I lived downtown in a new condo for 3 or 4 years and then bought a "mini-farm" where we now live. By mini farm I mean I only have 5 acres actually but its a old farm house (limestone) that was built in the 1840's. I have a large barn that was built in 1910 and a goat barn, chicken coop, corn crib, and a couple other small buildings. So I have the farmhouse and buildings without all the farmable land, Im still working on that. I grew up in the "city" but was always active with the outdoors and around other farmers having grown up hunting and fishing about everything around here. We have a black lab, layer chickens - barred rocks,black stars, amercaunas. We also have some holstein steers and jersey for beef, a couple donkeys, many meat rabbits and bantam chickens along with meat chickens (broilers). The problem with not having more land is that I cannot grow my own grains and therefore have to get them from elevator. I decided to get a cub as a project last summer while I was in Detox for two weeks up in Maumee. I knew I would need some more stuff to keep me occupied and these couple cubs I got sure did the trick :) Anyways thats a little about me. Still hunt a lot,still fish a lot, and always working on something outside and at the family shop.

Return to “Introduce Yourself”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests