This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

1948 Farmall Cub - stored and not running

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Jimmymike
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 37380
Tractors Owned: 2007 John Deere 3203
1948 Farmall Cub

1948 Farmall Cub - stored and not running

Postby Jimmymike » Sat Nov 01, 2014 7:10 am

:help: I’m a green horn newbie to the Cub forum. I just purchased a 1948 Farmall Cub from a friend of mine and need advice from the experts. This tractor was completely restored to original about 18 years ago but has spent the last 8 years stored in the corner of a garage. After restoration the tractor was only used as a trailer queen, driven only at tractor shows and parades. When the tractor was stored the last owner said it was running but not as smooth as it should. He also tried to start it a couple of years ago but the carburetor would flood out and pour gas and it has been sitting since then. The engine turns freely, the oil is clear, the radiator is still full with clean coolant, the gas tank is clean but has gas residue (varnish), and the fuel bowl is full of the same stuff. If you had this tractor and wanted to get it back to running condition where would your start? I’m totally new to Farmall Cubs’ and would like to hear from the experts before I start tinkering :worthy: .

Bigdog
Team Cub Mentor
Team Cub Mentor
Zip Code: 43113
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: 1948 Farmall Cub - stored and not running

Postby Bigdog » Sat Nov 01, 2014 7:16 am