Clutch Problem - Need advice

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
johnbartlett19
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 04011

Clutch Problem - Need advice

Postby johnbartlett19 » Wed Jun 10, 2020 3:01 pm

Hi folks. 49 Farmall Cub, I believe I have a Rockford clutch based on the pictures in the parts catalog.

I took her out for a short mow yesterday using the Woods brush hog. Clutch has been a bit soft and not returning well. Then as I pulled up in front of the garage, the clutch would not disengage. Had to shut off the engine and start her in reverse to get her in the garage.

This morning I pulled off the access port and a 5/16-18 3/4" hex head bolt fell out. It is badly worn on one side and mangled on the other side.

I have not been into the clutch before so I am not an expert here. The throw-out bearing moves with the clutch pedal, but is too far back to engage the arms when the clutch pedal is down. I can adjust, but still trying to understand 1) why did it stop working all at once, and 2) where does that bolt belong? I have searched through the parts manual photos and can't find a bolt of that description anywhere in the clutch.

Any hints on where to look next? Appreciate any advice. Thanks! JB

Jim Becker
Team Cub
Team Cub
Zip Code: 55319
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: Clutch Problem - Need advice

Postby Jim Becker » Wed Jun 10, 2020 3:16 pm

The only similar bolt I can think of is the one that holds the 2 halves of the yoke together. Loosing it can cause the symptoms you describe. However, I believe it is a 1/4-inch bolt. Someone may have put in a larger bolt. You can see the bolt I am referring to on this page at TM.
http://www.tmtractor.com/new/cl/112fp.htm
If that is your problem, the bolt can be replaced through the hand hole.

Eugene
Team Cub Mentor