Cub won’t start or even make noise.

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
TomStein
Zip Code: 19320

Cub won’t start or even make noise.

Postby TomStein » Sat Jan 13, 2024 1:26 pm

About a month ago, I started the tractor up like normal and put it in the shed.
A week ago I tried to start it and it churned but wouldn’t start.
I tried to start it yesterday and it’s totally dead and doesn’t really make a sound other than a clicking noise.
I have put the battery on the charger and it seems to be fully charged.
I’m a newbie and I’ve been taking some time reading up trying to figure out how to diagnose and fix this, but while I was it got way worse. Any thoughts on where to start? Thanks so much in advance.

Eugene
Team Cub Mentor
Team Cub Mentor
Zip Code: 65051
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: Cub won’t start or even make noise.

Postby Eugene » Sat Jan 13, 2024 1:58 pm

Fully charge up the battery, then do a voltage drop test on the battery.

Voltage drop test on battery. Voltmeter/multimeter set on 20 volts DC with one lead on each battery terminal. Crank engine while reading the voltage. Bad battery; 3.5 volts for 6 volt battery. 7 to 7.5 volts for a 12 volt battery.

Battery good. Check for spark.
I have an excuse. CRS.

TomStein

Postby TomStein » Sat Jan 13, 2024 2:20 pm

So the 6V battery reads 6.5v before I pull the ignition. When I pull the ignition it says 4.5v.

Don McCombs
Team Cub Mentor
Team Cub Mentor
Zip Code: 21550
Tractors Owned: "1950 Something" Farmall Cub
1957 Farmall Cub w/FH
1977 International Cub w/FH
1978 International Cub
1948 Farmall Super A

Postby Don McCombs » Sat Jan 13, 2024 2:49 pm