This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

Some basic maintenance questions.

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
TomStein
Zip Code: 19320

Some basic maintenance questions.

Postby TomStein » Fri Jan 13, 2023 10:32 pm

Hi everyone. I’m a newbie and I have a bunch of questions. Sorry I’m advance for the long post.
I’d like to do some maintenance on the transmission and final drive. I just got my 63’ lo-boy and although it seems like it’s running just fine who knows when it was changed last.
So the gear box. I’ve seen some people post and even a video of someone flush it out with kerosene I believe? They even run the tractor slowly with the fluid in the transmission? So it’s ok to run it briefly without any oil in it to clean out the gunk??? If I do that is there anything I should be careful of while running the tractor so that I don’t mess up any gears? Is that something I should definitely do or get in there and see how gunky it is before I do it? Also, any suggestions on what oil I should put back in? The manual says sae 80 or 90 or IH hy-trans fluid, but any suggestions on which one? Or is there something better out there?