This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

63 flooding

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
MeAndTK
Zip Code: 39466

63 flooding

Postby MeAndTK » Fri May 20, 2022 7:19 pm

I’m a newbie, having owned my 63 only a year.
It began flooding recently. It wasn’t gradual, but just began happening one day
I wondered about the gas I’d bought, so I added some B12 to the gas. It had no effect.
Where should I begin?

Thx

Jason
Jason

SPONSOR AD

Sponsor

Sponsor

Glen
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 00000
Tractors Owned: 1956 Farmall Cub with Fast Hitch, F-11 plow, Disc, Cultivator, Cub-22 mower
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: 63 flooding

Postby Glen » Fri May 20, 2022 8:40 pm

Hi,
It sounds like dirt may have gotten in the needle and seat in the carburetor, and is holding the needle open, so it is leaking gas out.
I would take the carb apart, and the float out, and clean the needle and down inside the seat.
Be careful and don't scratch the end of the needle, or down in the seat.

A 1963 Cub originally came with an IH carburetor, I don't know if your Cub still has it, the Zenith carb was used later on Cubs, and some have been changed to those. I would identify which brand you have first.
Below are pics, the 1st pic shows an IH style carb.

Here is some info for cleaning and repairing the IH carburetor, if you need it.
You might not need all the info, but it's important to set the float level right.

Before taking the carb apart, clean the outside of it, to keep dirt out of the carb.