This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

1949 Cub plug wires

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
zig79
Zip Code: 63385

1949 Cub plug wires

Postby zig79 » Mon May 24, 2021 6:59 pm

Please understand that I am not a mechanic, so much of what I am asking is learning on the job. I need to know how to wire my spark plugs to the proper location on my distributor. I took mine off to replace them with new ones and, well you can guess the rest. I have them out of order. Can someone please help? Photos would be an added plus. Thank you.

SPONSOR AD

Sponsor

Sponsor

Clemsonfor
501 Club
501 Club
Zip Code: 29848
Tractors Owned: Yanmar YM2000
Yanmar YM186 (non running)
1952 Farmall Cub
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: 1949 Cub plug wires

Postby Clemsonfor » Mon May 24, 2021 7:38 pm

If you have 2 posts you can download the original manual from this site and it lists all the info you want and more.

Glen
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 00000
Tractors Owned: 1956 Farmall Cub with Fast Hitch, F-11 plow, Disc, Cultivator, Cub-22 mower

Postby Glen » Mon May 24, 2021 8:04 pm

Hi,
In one of your posts you have a pic showing your Cub has a magneto, with a replacement coil mounted lower than the magneto, so the original coil in the magneto is not being used.
The post for the original coil is on the top cover of the magneto, the post is open in your pic, because the spark plug wire is going to the newer coil.

A Cub magneto originally has the post for the spark plug wire for number 1 cylinder at the top on the magneto cap.