malware on siteModerator: Team Cub
40 posts
• Page 3 of 3 • 1, 2, 3
Re: malware on siteOur laptop at home got hit with that windows 2012 blah blah crap a few nights ago. I was using it at home doing my normal tractor sites visits, nothing out of the ordinary, had no idea how it happened. Maybe now I do. Haven't been able to use it since, not computer savvy enought to do that on my own. I got it here at work waiting on our computer guy to come by sometime and look at it for me...
![]() Member IHCC Chapter 37 Eastern North Carolina 1951 Farmall "M" - Restored 1949 Farmall Cub - Original "Blue Ribbon Reconditioned" 1929 Farmall Regular
Re: malware on sitemy secutity blocked a high severity intrusion attempt last nite at 8:53 while i was on this site--don't know if this will help ya dennis but this was what was blocked: (178.18.243.89 ) i have norton
get er done; life is good
Re: malware on siteCharlie,
What Norton product do you have? I have Symantic Anti-virus and I obviously need to do something different. Don McCombs
MD, Deep Creek Lake "1950 Something" Farmall Cub, Cub-193 Moldboard Plow 1977 IH Cub w/FH, L-F194 Moldboard Plow, L-38 Disk, L-F1 Platform Carrier, Mott FHC Mower 1948 Farmall Super A, IH 22 Mower 1951 Farmall Super C w/FH
Re: malware on siteCharlie:
Out of curiosity I googled
and it resolves to somewhere in England... 178.18.243.89 A whois.net query resolves as
Ripe shows it as a German IP addy. Confusion breeds Discussion which breeds Knowledge which breeds Confidence which breeds Friendship
"Before beginning a hunt, it is wise to ask someone what you are looking for before you begin looking for it." - Winnie Cub Manual Server
Re: malware on siteOK folks,
I've been over the site with a fine tooth comb and cannot find any evidence of malware/viruses on the site. For those of you who have noticed strange things, be aware, that most viruses and mailware are delivered via "downloaded" files, email attachements, and some "drive by" infections on computers with un-patched computer files. Once a virus or malware is loaded onto a computer, it will give bogus information and prompt the person to click or purchase some software or it may just interfere with the computers normal operation. Blocked ads can be either a false positive from the anti-virus software or it is blocking the originating URL of the ad -- for whatever reason. It does not mean the ad has a virus and it will infect your computer by display on the screen. (I've checked with Google Adsense and they report no known malware or viruses invading their ad network and are vigilant in that quest; it is their bread and butter, so they are serious about keeping it clean.) If you want, you can scan the site by using the multiple scanners located on this site: http://www.virustotal.com/index.html Click the "Submit URL" tab and enter "farmallcub.com" in the box and scan the site for your assurance that the site is clean. Regardless, be assured I take all potential threats as real and fully investigate them. However, with a whole internet full of sites (and I'm sure FarmallCub is not the only one you visit), plus email threats, it is a difficult job to try and find where these nasties originate from. I can only verify this site. Please let me know if you have positive proof of any malicious activity from this site. Thanks, Dennis "Time makes more converts than reason."
Re: malware on siteDennis,
Yep, I got hit on Wednesday afternoon and it basically locked up my computer. Fortunately it was a company computer, 8-months old, but it locked her up good. Our IT guy could not get in to my computer remotely, so I spent the day in Syracuse on Thursday letting them work on it. After a whole day, something that they used to remove the virus, or the virus itself, stripped some of the Windows files, and my computer was toast. They had to re-install Windows. So, I got a new laptop out of the deal (because they were tired of working on it and had new ones laying there). Regardless. I know exactly where I was when I got hit. I was in the Cub Vine section, and it was about noon on Wednesday. 1951 Farmall Cub, Cub Cadets 102, 104, 1811, 1864, Simplicity Legacy XL 4x4 Diesel with FEL, 60" mower, 50" Tiller
Re: malware on siteWhat's the status of this situation?
Don McCombs
MD, Deep Creek Lake "1950 Something" Farmall Cub, Cub-193 Moldboard Plow 1977 IH Cub w/FH, L-F194 Moldboard Plow, L-38 Disk, L-F1 Platform Carrier, Mott FHC Mower 1948 Farmall Super A, IH 22 Mower 1951 Farmall Super C w/FH
Re: malware on site
Don and FarmallCub members, I have been over this site multiple times looking for any malicious code and scanned it with server based scanners and third party scanners. I find ZERO evidence of any "Trojan" or virus software on FarmallCub.Com. I have also triple checked with Google Adsense and they verified that their are ZERO reports of any compromised ads on their networks. Now that being said, NEVER let down your guard and neither will I. Keep your systems patched with security updates, religiously -- set them to AUTOMATIC if you're a windows user. Keep a good anti-virus installed and updated (firewall too.) Never, ever, click on an email attachment unless you are 100% positive that it is safe -- that includes emails from friends and business (they can be "spoofed"). I also hate to say it, but Windows XP currently accounts for 75% of all virus infections... if you are using XP, be extra careful. You might want to ask Santa for a new Windows 7 or Apple computer. Dennis PS: I personally spent the last five days cleaning a very nasty "rootkit" virus off my brothers computer.... he clicked on a file attachment. "Time makes more converts than reason."
Re: malware on siteThanks, Dennis, for all that you do for the board. It is definitely appreciated.
Don McCombs
MD, Deep Creek Lake "1950 Something" Farmall Cub, Cub-193 Moldboard Plow 1977 IH Cub w/FH, L-F194 Moldboard Plow, L-38 Disk, L-F1 Platform Carrier, Mott FHC Mower 1948 Farmall Super A, IH 22 Mower 1951 Farmall Super C w/FH
40 posts
• Page 3 of 3 • 1, 2, 3
Return to Message Board & Computer Questions Who is onlineUsers browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests |
|