This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

Need help on alternator wiring

Farmall H, HV & Super H, 300 & 350, 1939-1958
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Rick Spivey
Cub Pro
Cub Pro
Zip Code: 29518
Circle of Safety: Y

Need help on alternator wiring

Postby Rick Spivey » Fri Mar 31, 2017 7:58 pm

Sorry to post a question that has probably been answered before, but I am not an expert on the electrical side. My "H" (I know, I'm in the Cub forum, but I'll get more hits that way, and it doesn't matter) was "converted" to 12 volt in a previous life. It has never kept the battery charged since I got it, but being magneto ignition, not big deal. However, I am tired of hand cranking it. So today I took the alternator in and had it tested, Delco 3 wire. It tested good, so I knew the issue was wiring. Mine looks a lot like diagram 5 in the wiring diagrams (M alternator), but no battery ignition. Therefore, wire 1 was not present. Wire 2 was connected toy the post as shown. I see that wire 1 has the diode included, and I don't trust my memory on what that is for.

Will my system work correctly if that wire is not there? And if needed, what do I connect it to, since I have a "kill" switch, and not an "ignition" switch?
Rick Spivey
'52 Cub ("Great Personality") 148xxx
'48 Cub with FH ("Gunny Cub") 38xxx
'57 Lambretta (a slow work in progress)
'74 Triumph TR6 (Mama's toy)

SPONSOR AD

Sponsor

Sponsor

Eugene
Team Cub Mentor
Team Cub Mentor
Zip Code: 65051

Re: Need help on alternator wiring

Postby Eugene » Fri Mar 31, 2017 8:48 pm