Would my 140 farmall run a 5 ft bush hog

Farmall Super A, AV, 100, 130, & 140 1939 - 1973

Moderator: Team Cub

Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
User avatar
Jonathan
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2017 4:52 pm
Zip Code: 00000
Tractors Owned: These are my farmalls all my grandaddy's tractors

1952 cub with fast hitch name (grandaddy Eddie s.)

1957 cub with fast hitch name (grandaddy Leon b.)

1970 140 with fast hitch name (grandaddy Bill j. )

I'm looking fast hitch stuff for all 3 of then I have nothing

Would my 140 farmall run a 5 ft bush hog

Postby Jonathan » Tue Oct 24, 2017 9:46 am

Can you guys tell if my farmall 140 would run a 5 ft bush hog I need to know I found one cheap that is in good shape

I just need to if it can run it
Jonathan s. :D :hattip:

User avatar
Shane Nelson
501 Club
501 Club
Posts: 3000
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2017 6:24 am
Zip Code: 27284
Tractors Owned: .
1947 Circle Cub #1447 (Arnold)
195? Cub
1970 International 140 (Norman)
1949 John Deere A
1972 Schramm Pneumatractor
1993 Ford 4630 W/Loader
1965 John Deere 110
1961 Cub Cadet Original
Circle of Safety: Y
Location: Oak Ridge, N.C.

Re: Would my 140 farmall run a 5 ft bush hog

Postby Shane Nelson » Tue Oct 24, 2017 9:49 am

It depends on what your cutting with it. It won't pull it in stuff as high as the hood but would do good in grass like keeping a field mowed down or a pasture clipped.
God is good, all the time!
Every home is a school, what are you teaching?
Circle of Safety

User avatar
John *.?-!.* cub owner
Team Cub Guide
Team Cub Guide
Posts: 22766
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2003 2:09 pm
Zip Code: 63664
Tractors Owned: 47, 48, 49 cub plus Wagner loader & other attachments. 41 Farmall H.
Location: Mo, Potosi

Re: Would my 140 farmall run a 5 ft bush hog

Postby John *.?-!.* cub owner » Tue Oct 24, 2017 10:01 am

It will work to keep weeds down in a field, and maybe small brush, but nothing really think or very high. You will also need to keep the blades pretty sharp. 5 foot is the normal size for an H or 300 series.
If you are not part of the solution,
you are part of the problem!!!

Eugene
Team Cub Mentor
Team Cub Mentor
Posts: 16973
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 9:52 pm
Zip Code: 65051
Circle of Safety: Y
Location: Mo. Linn

Re: Would my 140 farmall run a 5 ft bush hog

Postby Eugene » Tue Oct 24, 2017 11:07 am

I use a 5 foot IH trailer type "brush hog" towed by a WD Allis Chalmers in 2nd gear. The WD has about 5 more horse power on the drawbar and PTO than the 140.

My "brush hog" is adjustable in mower deck height. If the mowing gets really tough I can either drop down one gear or raise the mower deck.

Think I would purchase the mower. Give it a try, see how well it works.
I have an excuse. CRS.

FarmallSteve
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 25, 2017 7:49 am
Zip Code: 00000

Re: Would my 140 farmall run a 5 ft bush hog

Postby FarmallSteve » Wed Oct 25, 2017 7:17 am

As stated above, my experience with a 5' behind an A is it will do good to "maintain", but not the go to tractor/ mower set up for brush clearing. If you have high weeds, it will probably have to be cut in low gear the first time, maybe multiple passes. Maintaining it could then be doen in 2nd gear. A lot depends on condition of you engine as well. How strong is it currently? A few acres of high weeds/ brush will tell you if you don't already know! Take it easy with it and don't let too much "chaff" get in the radiator and let her overheat! (One of the reasons I prefer the Super A with a water pump!)

User avatar
AL Farmall Boy
5+ Years
5+ Years
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 6:38 pm
Zip Code: 35111
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: Would my 140 farmall run a 5 ft bush hog

Postby AL Farmall Boy » Wed Oct 25, 2017 1:23 pm

It would be nice to have a set of front wheel weights for this attachment too.
Regards,
Chase
205-368-5339
ihfarmallrtr@gmail.com

:tractor: Follow my page "Alabama Tractor Pickers" on YouTube & Facebook! :tractor:

BohemianJon
5+ Years
5+ Years
Posts: 89
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2009 8:38 am
Zip Code: 49127
Tractors Owned: Farmall 130
Location: Stevensville, Michigan

Re: Would my 140 farmall run a 5 ft bush hog

Postby BohemianJon » Mon Oct 30, 2017 8:21 pm

I had a old 5' brush hog that I wanted to use with my 130 that has front wheel weights. The old 5' brush hog was very well made...don't known the weight...but it was heavy and it was a real strain for my 130 to get it off the ground. Had a chance and bought a nice used 4' brush hog that works great...lifts just fine...pops right up...I can get in tight places a lot easier...and with the 4' unit I get more "tractor time". :)


  • Similar Topics
    Replies
    Views
    Last post

Return to “Farmall A, Super A, AV, 100, 130 & 140”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest