Head crack and help needed.

Farmall Super A, AV, 100, 130, & 140 1939 - 1973

Moderator: Team Cub

Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Farmcub31
Zip Code: 74015

Head crack and help needed.

Postby Farmcub31 » Sat Apr 08, 2017 12:26 pm

Hey guys I am new to the SuperA family have always had cubs but recently was able to pickup a super A. The tractor was sitting over the last 4 months at the owners house I picked it up at, he said it has been running well before but since was not able to start it. I got it home and rebuilt the carb and went to start it and noticed it was locked up. After pulling the head I had 2 front cylinders that had light rust and carbon on them and the rear 2 that were clean. After I cleaned the head off I noticed a small crack in the head on the front water jacked hole basically where the water intake inlet is for the tractor cooling its not on the block its on the head, I hope you can see from the picture I attached. I have a few questions. first is how can I get that small crack fixed without junking the head? and second well I am here what should I do to the head and the valved? I am not planning on keeping the tractor more then 2 years or so and am not looking to dump a ton of money into it, just looking to mow with the woods mower and thats about it. Please let me know if I should take the head to a machine shop what I should say to them and also what the crack situation should be. Thanks again so much guys. Lastly I think its a 1950 A without a water pump. The picture I pasted is the water inlet hole on the head right besides the mane water hole coming from the radiator.
Attachments
image1.JPG

SONNY
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 61722

Re: Head crack and help needed.

Postby SONNY » Sat Apr 08, 2017 8:11 pm