How to cultivate on 36" row centers

Farmall Super A, AV, 100, 130, & 140 1939 - 1973

Moderator: Team Cub

Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
BlackWaterFarms
Zip Code: 31513

How to cultivate on 36" row centers

Postby BlackWaterFarms » Sun Jan 24, 2016 7:36 pm

I have always wanted a 140 farmall and I was finally able to buy one this fall. It is set up on 44" tread width and I'm trying to get ready to plant sweet corn this spring on 36" row centers. I have always planted on 36" but my tractors were set up on 72" and I cultivate/plant either two or four rows at the time. So, I'm trying to wrap my mind around how to cultivate on 36" with a one tractor that won't get as narrow as 36". I know this is probably a dumb question to you guys but I will appreciate it if someone can help me understand as I'm new to to this one row thing!

staninlowerAL
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 36558
Tractors Owned: Cubs: (3)'49's, (1)'52, (1)'57 IH Cub LoBoy w/FH, (1)'72 154 Number Series Loboy, '76 Longstripe w/FH, Mowers: C-22, Bush Hog 412, Pennington 59, Woods RM42CF, Woods 42, assorted FCub plows, planters, discs, etc. OTHERS: '49 AC B & Ind. Sickle mower, '61 AC D12 Ser 2, '52 8N, '56 Ferguson 35 Deluxe, '53 MM BG (offset), (2) '49 Avery V's, '56 JD 420C, with Blade and fire plow, '85 JD 850 (Yanmar) w/72" belly mower, '76 Yanmar 1500, Sears Surburban's, MTD's, Jeeps & other misc. "treasures"
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: How to cultivate on 36" row centers

Postby staninlowerAL » Sun Jan 24, 2016 8:07 pm

Super A manual P52 shows the tread width 40 to 68 inches, not sure how this compares to a 140. Try this link:
http://www.farmallcub.com/[ Sorry, direct links to manual section is not allowed. ]/downloa ... %20OCR.pdf

Super A
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 28521
Tractors Owned: 1949 Cub "The Paperweight"
Cub powered IH 52R combine