This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

How to adjust your valves.

Time saving tips to keep your Cub running smooth
Lance Leitzel
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 45011
Tractors Owned: 1960 Loboy
1974 154 Loboy
1968 72 Cub Cadet
Circle of Safety: Y

How to adjust your valves.

Postby Lance Leitzel » Fri Sep 15, 2006 4:33 pm

First of all, I am by no means an expert, but I did manage to adjust my valves and live to tell about the experience. :D

A couple of things you'll want on hand before you start this adventure:

(2) 1/2" open end wrenches (having one being a thinner helps)
(1) 9/16" closed end wrench (for the manafold nuts)
(2) 251233R2 (Manifold Gaskets)
(1) 251371R1 (valve tappet cover)
(1) 251235R1 (carburetor gasket)
a can of PB Blaster or Kroil
a set of feeler gauges (.013 - .016 at least)*** for earlier engines 0.013" is the correct gap (1600 rpm engines) So you would use 0.012, 0.013 & 0.014 for you gauges instead.
some sort of scraper
and lastly a 7/8" deepset socket or wrench to remove sparkplugs.

Here are the steps I followed:

1) Drain gas from tank and remove hood.
2) Spray the following items with Kroil (or the like) - 4 nuts on exhaust manafold, 2 bolts on valve cover, 2 bolts from carb to manafold. If you have underslung exhaust, get the exhaust clamp too.
3) For best success, let that sit overnight and start again fresh in morning.
4) Remove the carb & fuel line first. Curse excess gas that magically appears. This includes choke rod and governor rod.
5) Carefully remove manifold. Curse the IH engineer that put those two center nuts so close to the manifold tubes. :P