This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

Sickle bar mower question

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
COAG
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 06492

Sickle bar mower question

Postby COAG » Fri Jan 06, 2017 12:01 pm

I am new to the cub world and just bought a 53 with what I believe is a #22 sickle bar. I plan a restoration and would like advise on how to remove the bar so I can replace knives. I also see the end of the bar connected to the pitman has an attachment ball with plate, can those knives be replaced by removing rivets as well and if so what length of rivets should I get?

Don McCombs
Team Cub Mentor
Team Cub Mentor
Zip Code: 21550
Tractors Owned: "1950 Something" Farmall Cub
1957 Farmall Cub w/FH
1977 International Cub w/FH
1978 International Cub
1948 Farmall Super A
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: Sickle bar mower question

Postby Don McCombs » Fri Jan 06, 2017 12:57 pm

Grind off the rivet heads with an angle grinder. Remove the remaining rivet with a punch. All knives can be removed using this technique. Rivet sizes are included in the attachment below. Find a copy of the manual at this link... http://farmallcub.com/rudi_cub/www.clea ... index.html

Here's another technique for knife removal. A slightly opened vise can substitute for the anvil. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mP-ZDcIek_s

Cub-22 Mower Parts.pdf
(42.54 KiB) Downloaded 449 times
Don McCombs
MD, Deep Creek Lake

Proud Member of Maryland Chapter 39

The best teachers are those who show you where to look, but don't tell you what to see.