This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

New to Cub: Ground is wrong

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Mcazac34
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 17315
Tractors Owned: 1950 Farmall Cub

New to Cub: Ground is wrong

Postby Mcazac34 » Sat Mar 05, 2016 7:26 pm

Hi all,
I am new to Cubs. I just picked up my first cub. Model Number 117XXX. I am taking that it is a 1950's model. I have been using this site and just decided to become a member. I want to give my cub a good look over and tune up. The first thing that i noticed is that it wont take a charge. Looking at wiring schematics I can see a issue already. The person before me hard reversed the battery and as a result is negative grounded. If this is my problem what are the steps that i need to take in order to make sure if i flip flop the battery around and change the grounds, that nothing will get hurt or damaged. I am willing to bet when they did a battery change they never took notice to the terminal that was originally grounded. But i want to be safe. Any suggestions would be a major help. :lost:

Thanks,
Zach

SPONSOR AD

Sponsor

Sponsor

Glen
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 00000
Tractors Owned: 1956 Farmall Cub with Fast Hitch, F-11 plow, Disc, Cultivator, Cub-22 mower
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: New to Cub

Postby Glen » Sat Mar 05, 2016 7:45 pm

Hi,
Welcome to the website. Reading the owner's manual is a good place to start. It has much info about operation, lubrication, and maintenance.