This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

Dead 6V battery

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Joey
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 70403

Dead 6V battery

Postby Joey » Wed Jul 27, 2005 5:52 pm

Need help! For some reason, my battery keep going down and dying out. This is my second new battery, it's dead and won't take a charge. I'm open to ideas for the cause. I'm not a mechanic and don't have any meters. If y'all tell me what I need, I'm willing to buy the tools and try to check things out.

The battery was polarized whenever it was disconnected and reconnected. I thought this was the problem with the first battery. Is it possible the generator belt being a little loose could not charge the battery? Can the generator being checked on the tractor while it's running?

kinelbor
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 04762

Postby kinelbor » Wed Jul 27, 2005 7:08 pm

I have heard that the best place to test the generator is at the battery. Test the voltage while the tractor is off at the battery. Then fire it up and bring it to about 1/2 throttle or so, then test the voltage. If it is higher then it is charging. Otherwise start looking for shorts. Either way you will need to buy a mutlimeter. Should be able to get one for under $30, and if you want one with more features I think you can get it for under $100. Hope it helps.
Nik - 1948 Farmall Cub

Bigdog
Team Cub Mentor
Team Cub Mentor
Zip Code: 43113
Circle of Safety: Y

Postby Bigdog » Wed Jul 27, 2005 8:43 pm