This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

Novice '48 Cub Owner

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
leed
10+ Years
10+ Years

Novice '48 Cub Owner

Postby leed » Wed May 04, 2005 8:44 am

Hello all,
I'm new to tinkering with my Cub. It's been in my garage for several years now. When I put it away, the fan was siezed up. I took the fan out and oiled it as well as replaced the belts. Now I can't get the old girl running again. I was mowing the day that the fan siezed and she was running great. Any ideas???

SPONSOR AD

Sponsor

Sponsor

Brent
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 93510

Postby Brent » Wed May 04, 2005 8:57 am

:idea: Might be the gas has gone bad. Might want to drain the tank and also remove the carburetor and clean it out. Put it back together and try again.
Always try the easiest thing first.

leed
10+ Years
10+ Years

Postby leed » Wed May 04, 2005 9:02 am

I did drain the tank and put new gas in. I tried starter fluid, too. I thought I would replace the plugs, If I rebuild the carburator, do I need to order a kit in order to get a new gasket; or can I reuse the old one?

LeeD

Ron L
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 18603
Tractors Owned: 1948 Cub
1955 Cub

Postby Ron L » Wed May 04, 2005 9:08 am

leed. Welcome to the board. You can reuse the old one in a pinch IF it is in good shape & doesn't cause air to be sucked in the carb. A new one is recommended.