This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

Starter Problem - 49 Cub

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Dave.49.cub
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 45066
Tractors Owned: 1949 Farmall Cub - Working Tractor -Mowing, log skidding, snow plowing.
1947 Farmall Cub - My Dad's

Starter Problem - 49 Cub

Postby Dave.49.cub » Wed Dec 20, 2006 1:24 pm

Hi all,

I need some advice. I have a 49 Cub working trasctor that I've been working on and improving for about 3 years now.

The starter seems to have a dead spot on it. I pulled the start handle the other day and it started to turn the engine then just stopped dead. I pull the handle now and nuthin! I jacked the right back wheel up, put it in 3rd and spun the wheel and it cranks right up.

It did this one before. The battery is charged and good and it has always had a very strong cranking starter.

Any ideas or thoughts? I bet if I could turn the started a little it would crank right up.

Thanks!

Dave
Dave.49.cub

SPONSOR AD

Sponsor

Sponsor

Bigdog
Team Cub Mentor
Team Cub Mentor
Zip Code: 43113
Circle of Safety: Y

Postby Bigdog » Wed Dec 20, 2006 1:30 pm

Dave - start by checking the switch mounted on the starter. Remove it and check the contacts. They are a high-current switch and they do take a lot of abuse. The stud that sticks up out of the starter is replaceable too.
Just a place to start.
Bigdog
If you can't fix it with a hammer, you've got an electrical problem.

My wife says I don't listen to her. - - - - - - - - Or something like that!