This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

Hydraulic Noise

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
TomBolton
10+ Years
10+ Years

Hydraulic Noise

Postby TomBolton » Mon Oct 30, 2006 7:31 pm

I have a '63 Cub that I'm just getting started on. I'm getting a good bit of hydraulic pump noise. It seems to come and go, but is mostly there. It's a classic pump noise, but varies in intensity. It's louder when working against the orifice in up mode, as you'd expect. Other than the noise the hydraulics work perfectly.

I have read the related links and have flushed the system and bled for air. The fluid is usually clear, without the tiny bubbles you'd expect with air noise. Occasionaly it will look milky. Sometimes all I have to do is open the filler and the noise is completely gone. So my guess is I have a bad shaft seal on the pump and am getting air in the fluid, but could it just be a worn pump??

I hate having the noise because the motor sounds so sweet otherwise.

Thanks for any suggestions.
1963 Cub - my first!
Woodbridge, VA

SPONSOR AD

Sponsor

Sponsor

Harold R
Team Cub Guide
Team Cub Guide
Zip Code: 71203
Tractors Owned: 1948,55, and 56 Farmall Cubs.
Circle of Safety: Y

Postby Harold R » Mon Oct 30, 2006 8:29 pm