This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

Transmission

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Bus Driver
10+ Years
10+ Years

Transmission

Postby Bus Driver » Tue May 30, 2006 6:20 am

I have no experience repairing the Cub transmission beyond repairs to the shifter cover. I have done some repairs on other transmissions, including rebuilding a Borg-Warner 3-speed for a 1947 Studebaker and a 4-speed heavy duty for larger trucks. Transmission gears under load have tremendous forces trying to push the gears away from each other. My thought is that the Cub gears, even if showing some wear, are likely to function quite well and with tolerable noise levels if the bearings are all good. I have one that is alarmingly noisy. Unless a gear is seriously chippped or broken, I plan to reuse it. All the bearings will be replaced. I have heard of replacement gears, new from unknown manufacturers, that were more noisy than the old ones they replaced. Perhaps only a few on this forum have rebuilt multiple Cub transmissions and thus the experience level is limited. Anyone have regrets about reusing an old gear? If so, why?
Luck favors those who are prepared

SPONSOR AD

Sponsor

Sponsor

Donny M
10+ Years
10+ Years

Postby Donny M » Tue May 30, 2006 10:21 am

When I rebuilt my 49 I reused gears that were pitted slightly. I even went to the trouble to hone each gear. Boy was it ever noisy :!: :!: In second gear you couldn't hear yourself think.