This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

Zen and the art of Ignition Timing.

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Lance Leitzel
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 45011
Tractors Owned: 1960 Loboy
1974 154 Loboy
1968 72 Cub Cadet
Circle of Safety: Y

Zen and the art of Ignition Timing.

Postby Lance Leitzel » Mon May 15, 2006 11:15 am

First a little background. (Sorry for the long post)

1) I have never worked on a points type ignition before. Actually I've never done anything except replace cap, rotors and wires before on my car.
2) Last year after I purchased the tractor, I gave it a "tune-up". New plugs, points, cap, rotor, wires, etc.
3) I learn best by messing with things.

So, finally in reading enough posts here on the forum, I deduced that I had to check my timing as my tractor never did like to slow idle. It ran much better faster my engine was reved. In helping my father-in-law cleanup his shop, I stumbled onto a timing light in some dark corner. Also, I'm managed to purchase a used dwell - tach meter (but clueless about it)

Here's what I found so far. My timing was retarded. Basically at fast idle it was firing at TDC. At slow idle I'm guessing it was firing at 16 degrees ATDC. (My guess due to me replacing the points last fall.) Amazingly enough, when I adjusted the timing to 16 degrees BTDC (at 475 RPM or higher), I was finally able to engine to idle at below the magic (375-400 RPM) to test the TDC timing.