Preparation For Paint

Farmall Cub Forum -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.

Moderator: Team Cub

Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
Bob Grieb
10+ Years
10+ Years
Zip Code: 92591

Preparation For Paint

Postby Bob Grieb » Fri May 12, 2006 9:37 pm

I am looking for opinions as I have never restored a tractor nor been to a Cub tractor show - I am a novice so this question may sound silly.

I have stripped the fenders using the electrolysis process and I find evidence of pitting on the surface of the fenders. I am not inclined to fill these pits with putty prior to prime and paint.

I am looking for input as to what is considered appropriate in a restoration process. I am not looking to win a prize for best in show I just want something that looks nice and can take to a parade. Filling pits seems to be an overkill.

Bigdog
Cub Pro
Cub Pro
Zip Code: 43113
Circle of Safety: Y

Postby Bigdog » Fri May 12, 2006 9:50 pm

Bob - it all depends on what you want. If you're not looking for a show tractor then all the labor and prep may not be justified. There are some build-primers that will fill some pitting and can be sanded reasonably smooth. Of course, on the other hand, while you have it apart it might be worth the extra work just to keep from saying "Boy! I wish I had done that when I was working on it before!"
Bigdog
If you can't fix it with a hammer, you've got an electrical problem.

My wife says I don't listen to her. - - - - - - - - Or something like that!

http://www.cubtug.com

George Willer
Cub Pro
Cub Pro
Zip Code: 43420
Circle of Safety: Y

Re: Preparation For Paint

Postby George Willer » Fri May 12, 2006 10:45 pm