This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

Sheetmetal Painting Advise

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
lyle11
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 44236
Tractors Owned: 48 FCub
55 Lowboy
60 Lowboy
Allis Chalmers B

Sheetmetal Painting Advise

Postby lyle11 » Sun Sep 08, 2019 2:33 pm

I am painting my third Cub hood. I’m a rattle can painter and far from being a perfectionist. My issue is that I probably should have totally stripped the old paint off but it wasn’t bad and was rust free and very tough to remove with a grinder with a cupped wire wheel, so I left some paint on the hood then used Bondo Glazing putty to smooth it out before I primed and painted it.

But, once the shiny paint went on it revealed imperfections. I suspect as I sand it I’m digging into the softer putty and creating small divots that become visible once the paint is applied. As I continue applying and sanding the putty it gets a little better with each coat. The entire tank and the hood sides, where I took it down to bare metal, look good. It’s the top of hood where I left some old paint that has the waviness.

I have been using a small palm sized sanding sponge to feather the glazing putty. I’m considering the following options:

1- Use a stripper and wire wheel on the top of the hood where it is wavy and take it to bare metal and start over on that area.

2 - Keep using the glazing putty with a larger stiffer sanding block and less pressure that doesn’t flex and dig into the softer putty.

Looking for any recommendations.