This site uses cookies to maintain login information on FarmallCub.Com. Click the X in the banner upper right corner to close this notice. For more information on our privacy policy, visit this link:
Privacy Policy

NEW REGISTERED MEMBERS: Be sure to check your SPAM/JUNK folders for the activation email.

What to look for in buying a Cub

The Cub Club -- Questions and answers to all of your Cub related issues.
Forum rules
Notice: For sale and wanted posts are not allowed in this forum. Please use our free classifieds or one of our site sponsors for your tractor and parts needs.
rbruno
5+ Years
5+ Years
Zip Code: 21797

What to look for in buying a Cub

Postby rbruno » Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:38 am

Hello All,
I am new to the Farmall Cub tractor. I remember 30 years ago, a friend had one and was doing a basic fresh up on one. I have always had Ford 9N and 8N tractors and have two today. But, ever since looking at my friend's Cub, I have also been interested in this tractor. Recently and unexpectedly, there have been 4 or 5 Cub tractors for sale in my area (central MD) which has gotten me interested again in this tractor. I have been doing a little research trying to learn more about these tractors which has led me to this site. So, I would like to ask a couple basic questions about the tractor.

1. Are there any more or less desirable years over the production time?
2. Were there any major changes to the basic tractor from year to year? Just to compare, the Ford 9n/2N had three speeds, the 8N 4. Again, the Ford front mount distributor to the side mount. etc These were pretty significant changes to the same basic tractor.
3. Are there certain things you check before buying a tractor? What do you try to avoid? Meaning would you buy a tractor that wasn't running but the sheet metal is good because it is hard to find sheet metal vs finding parts to get it to run again.